Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dirt Beer

leave a comment »

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


IMG_5027, originally uploaded by CitrusFreak.

Ok, so I’m 25. Up until now, the aim of buying beer was to get drunk. And I guess now, it still is. But I think it’s about time to say good bye to cheap, pisswater beer. Sure, PBR* is so hip nowadays, and Bud Lite is great for that summer BBQ, and Natty will always be great for that weekend on the lake, but there has to be a point where you say, “OK, life is too short to continue to spend less than six bucks for a six pack”. Unless you’re already obliterated, because at that point, everything tastes the same. And it’s kind of pointless to spend lots of money on beer you don’t really taste just to keep yourself drunk.

This is actually sort of a sad, pathetic post, because I’m kind of embarassed to admit that I even like beer. I used to hate it. Hate it for a long time. I used to be a liquor girl (although, to my chagrin, now I think I’m both a liquor girl and a beer girl). But, no thanks to my boyfriend Danny, I now sit at my desk at work and have the occasional gripping crave for it. It’s funny, that how, in all aspects in life, if you hate something, but then do it enough, it’s possible to learn to love it**. And years of attending my boy’s college parties have sort of cultivated this taste for beer.

So, sitting Friday night in a giant old gorgeous house near the Atlantic north shore of Massachusetts, I drank a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale*** and had a revelation: all beer is not created equal. Taste is a factor now, not just intoxication. I’ll never become a beer snob, or even a beer enthusiast, because the truth is that I just don’t drink all that often. To tell the truth, I don’t like to be really drunk (although this post and the previous post may suggest otherwise). I enjoy a little buzz, but hate that feeling of being out of control, and hate the sickness that follows. I guess it’s good to take off your head every once-in-a-while, but for the most part, I just want a mellow.

So, hopefully, I can now commit to buying a beer that has a bit more process put into it, a little more thought behind the suds. And maybe start respecting myself more. Ok, I know my priorities are out of whack when I feel I need to buy better beer to respect myself more. Sigh. Pretend this post didn’t even happen.

bye.

* Oh, I’ll own up: I’ll probably always love Pabst Blue Ribbon; it has sentimental value, plus Dennis Hopper made it so cool in Blue Velvet.

** I won’t go into my reason for this, because this is fodder for a whole ‘nother entry for sometime later.

*** Try it! it’s great! Plus this whole post is based off of a discussion with my friend’s brother, Merlyn, who was giving me the SNPA.

Written by pocheco

June 19, 2005 at 7:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

