Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Tiny Tropical Vacation

leave a comment »

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Alexandrine Parakeet, originally uploaded by mplawner.

So yesterday, as i was walking through the Boston Public Gardens on my lunch break, as usual, I saw something very unusual. And it made me happy.

For those of you who don’t know the Gardens, they’re beautiful. A big, leafy, lovely park, with a giant sculptured pond in the middle, complete with boats that look like Big Swans (powered by what looks like bicycle pedals). There are giant weeping willows, most of which have to be hundreds of years old, there are fountains and statues (one statue is dedicated to ether!), and plants grouped in colors and textures that are nothing short of luscious. But my favorite aspect of the park is that it’s teeming with creatures. It’s very refreshing to have a little haven of wildlife in the center of a big city. There are ducks and swans in the pond, Canadian Geese, squirrels, dogs, sometimes rabbits, and all sorts of other little birds including robins, sparrows, crows, pidgeons. But I saw something there yesterday that amazed me.

I was walking over the bridge in the center of the park and approached a large, lush patch of purple/blue/pink plants. At that moment, I noticed a bit of bright color on the grass next to the patch of flowers…that appeared to be moving. At first I thought it might be a discarded candy bar wrapper moving in the wind, but upon closer inspection, it was a parakeet! Just a wild, happy little parakeet, hanging out with all the little sparrows, pecking the ground in search of a snack.

I’ve never seen a wild parakeet—I’ve never seen one outside of a pet store, or a birdcage. Parakeets are that one animal that every single pet store has in common. And I guess I always thought they were kind of boring. Always tons of them in a glass cage on the ground filled with cedar chips or and newspaper shreds, they just seemed boring and unexotic. However, when I saw one of them on the grass, in a more natural habitat, the blue and yellow colors of the plumage transformed into something that was really captivating! It was like I was in paradise, if only for a moment, until it flew away.

Written by pocheco

September 27, 2005 at 7:09 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

