Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Just Like the Fambly Cat

leave a comment »

famblycat_l
Album Cover for Grandaddy’s Last Album, Just Like the Fambly Cat, due out in April (or May???)

I found this on the Grandaddy page on MySpace today. I’m almost sure it will be the art for their last album, Just Like the Fambly Cat. The album is purported to come out on April 9, although I’ve heard rumors that it’s been pushed back to May. April 9 is also the day that the new Flaming Lips album is meant to come out. If they both come out on that day, it will indeed be the best day thus far of 2006.

The title of the album, I’ve been told, refers to the break up of the band. Something to to the tune of: The band wanted to leave the music scene with dignity, to go and die in the corner without making a scene, just like an old family cat would do.

From an article with Pitchfork Media:

[Jason] added, “For whoever gives a shit, they can rest assured that it’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s no sadder than…I’m likening it to the natural crumbling of canyon walls. It can be sped up or done in by artificial forces. I just think we saw the opportunity to bring it to an end, to do it and still remain friends.”

“I don’t intend on ever stopping. I’ve actually tried to stop a bunch of times, but it’s not really possible. Sometimes I hate it so much, because it’s something that fatigues me. I’m going to do something, but I have no idea what.”

Anyway, I have high hopes for Lytle’s solo career, he’s just so talented.

lytle-disappearingfeet
Here’s another very typical Grandaddy photo, haha. I like that his feet seem to be disappearing, very much like Marty McFly’s family photo in Back to the Future.

Anyways, I finally was able to print a descent version of my grandaddy drawing, so I’ll be signing it and shipping it out today with a little enclosed card that says:

dear jason:

roses are red
violets are not
words are so clunky
but what else have I got?

oh yeah! i like to draw.

with much love,
sarah

I’m so excited by the possibility that my little drawing might be hanging on his wall…

*****
In other news, I’m growing tired of the Yakuza, so I’m thinking about calling it quits. It’s interesting, but they want me to do extra work and meet every week (sometimes twice a week) and it’s just too much time to put in without any pay. Not to mention, they’re a little disorganized–They asked me to do a drawing a month ago, and told me they would send me images of microphones which they wanted included in the drawing. They never sent the microphone images, so I ended up basing my drawings off of pictures of microphones I found on the internet as well as a couple I drew in the recording studio in the office next to mine.

Then, almost a month later, after they saw the drawing, asked me to make a couple of changes, and saw it again, I got an email with pictures of microphones asking me to redraw the microphones according to the pictures attached to the email. And I was like, Nuh-Uh.

They keep talking about being professional, but I’m starting to feel like it’s a pretense. Also, I also think they were flat out lying about all the money they had and the connections they had were tenuous at best. Anyway, I kind of figured this would happen from the start, but I wanted to give it a try.

Well, I should get to work.

—–

Currently listening to: Well nothing. Just Like the Fambly Cat MP3s are floating all around the internet now. But I, for one, refuse to listen to any of it until it’s out in album form. I just want to hear it all at once.

Written by pocheco

March 2, 2006 at 2:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

