Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Morning Jacket Drawing

leave a comment »

mymorningjacket_final
My Morning Jacket, by me, April 2006

Sometime in February, I sent in a fan email to all the members of My Morning Jacket saying how much I loved their music. One of the guys, Tommy Two-Tone, emailed me back to thank me for my comment and also to tell me he liked my Grandaddy drawing I had on my website. I asked him to send me a photo of his band because I had been wanting to draw a portrait of them as well. I told him it would probably take a couple of weeks…I don’t know why I even bothered saying that. With my schedule, it takes me two months to get anything done. Especially with this piece, I had a really hard time with it.

Making drawings of bands I like is fun and I find it rewarding, but the actual process of getting it done is often hellish. Mainly because I want to make it perfect, and so it takes me forever to decide what to do. I was trying forever to capture the faces perfectly in this portrait…but couldn’t do it well at all. I was getting really frustrated when I came up with the idea to use the King and Jack faces from a deck of playing cards. Anyway, I ended up being happy with that theme, and I even tried to alter the Jack King faces to look a bit more like the faces of the band members. The only thing I don’t like about this drawing compared to the Grandaddy one is that it isn’t as simple, because it includes their whole bodies as opposed to just their heads and torsos like in the Grandaddy drawing.

I tried my best to make it look uncomplicated, but I’m not sure if I achieved that. Anyway, I’m sending it back to Tommy today, here’s hoping he likes it.

—–

Currently listening to: You in Reverse by Built to Spill

Written by pocheco

April 17, 2006 at 3:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

