Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fenway Park

leave a comment »

fenway_wide
Fenway Park, April 2006—Red Sox vs.Toronto Bluejays

Well, this post is coming a little late, but I wanted to put it up anyway. I went to my first Red Sox game at Fenway park two Thursdays ago.

Going to a Sox game has been on my radar for a while. It is something that I have wanted to do as part of my Boston Exprience, but it’s always kind of been in the back of my mind because I’ve not that much of a sports fan.

But then I scored 2 free tickets from a guy I work with so I was really happy to go (those tickets can get expenseive!!!)

I took Ariana, and we spent time doing all of the very typical ballpark stuff that everyone should experience if they’re going to a Red Sox game.

First off, there is a ton of pre-game entertainment in the main drag around the park, called Yawkey Way, see below.

yawkeeway
Yawkey Way

Of course there are souvineers, food and beer, but that is just the beginning. They have jazz bands playing and guys on stilts dressed up in baseball uniforms, and the Fenway mascot, Wally. It’s like a carnival.

This being my first game, I spent a lot of time just taking it all in and trying everything I could. Ariana and I both bought Red Sox baseball caps, which you can see in the following pictures. Then we got some dinner. She got an Italian sausage, while I opted for the traditional Fenway Frank…which was the biggest hot dog I have ever seen. It was like a hot dog for giants…see below:

fenwayfrank
Yeah, it’s a huge hot dog

After dinner and watching the pre-game entertainment for a bit, we went in to the stadium to find our seats. The stadium is the oldest original baseball stadium in the country. It is a lovely park. It certainly doesn’t have the grandiose seating capacity that many of the other parks have (my only comparison is the Kansas City Royals stadium, and it’s huge). Rather, it’s relatively small and cozy, and all seats are good seats. She and I sat between home plate and first base.

Several vendors run up and down the aisles selling drinks and snacks. Ariana and I got the requisite Peanuts & Cracker Jack and shared Coke. It’s fun to buy the snacks; the vendors throw the bags of peanuts and popcorn over heads rather than walking down the aisles. Then, you pass your money through the people in your aisle, and then the vendor passes back your change.

The Fenway Park mascot is the Green Monster, which sort of looks like a Jim-Hensony style nondescript green blobby creature dressed up in a Sox uniform. He’s named after the Green Monster wall in the park, which aparently, is pretty hard to hit a ball over. If you can, it’s pretty great. On the back of the mascot’s jersey, it says “Wally” which I found hilarious. He spends his time bumbling around the park hugging kids and hi-fiving drunken Red Sox fans, but I heard he can get violent and sometimes kick ass if other team mascots challenge him. The whole concept is immensely entertaining and highly ludicrous. Anway, you can see the Green Monster Wall, followed by the Muppetfication of said wall in the photos below:

fenway_close
Bluejays up to bat

wally
Thanks to Daniel for finding this picture of Wally for me

Amidst all the side-show entertainment and ceremony, I found myself actually engrossed in the game. Usually, I have less-than-zero interest in sports games of any kind, especially baseball. But being there, amongst the screaming crowd, I was surprised to find that I was actually enjoying the game, despite myself.

Right after the Seventh Inning Stretch, they played “Sweet Caroline” by Neil Diamond over the loudspeakers. I hear they play it every single game, althought I don’t know why. But everyone, EVERYONE knows the words and everyone sings along, really loudly.

Well, the Sox lost 8-6, but they put up a good fight, especially in the last inning, where Ortiz almost won it for them. Even though they lost, it was a totally fun, entertaining and enriching experience for me, and I hope to be able to do it again this season.

Go Sox!

me_greenmonster
Yep, it’s official, I am a Bostonian now that I’ve gone to a Red Sox game

——

Currently listening to Portishead by Portishead

Written by pocheco

April 23, 2006 at 10:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

