Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I remember Songs for the Deaf

with one comment

desertdrive

Three summers ago, on the fourth of July, I took a road trip with a friend to the southwest. We drove from Tulsa, Oklahoma, to Eagle Nest, New Mexico and spent three days there over the holiday.

We had a great time, doing things like exploring ghost towns, riding donkeys, hiking and watching fireworks out over a lake. It was a lovely, relaxing vacation and overall it was a wonderful, wonderful experience.

During the vacation and shortly after, I kind of just racked up that experience with several others I had had lately, including a trip to Boston and a trip to Texas. But as time has passed, this trip has stood out as something remarkable in my mind, something that kind of transcends all of the other trips and experiences.

Almost three years have passed, and there hasn’t been a day gone by where I haven’t thought about that trip to New Mexico. As the gap between then and now continues to widen, those three little days have become iconic in my mind. They have attained a fantasy-like gossamer of perfection and beauty, something to only be found in a dream.

I wonder if I have built those 3 dayys up in my mind way past the boundaries of reality, or if, in fact, those were indeed the 3 Perfect Days of my life.

It’s funny how weeks, month, YEARS can pass me by, with out me noticing much difference from day to day, but then an isolated three days, a measly 72 hours, can stand out like a beacon of shining light; a moment where I was perfectly happy and careless and free.

I am not sure why those three days stand out..but the only variable I have to test it against is the landscape. I have subsequently developed a huge affection for the American Southwest, and am eager to return in hopes of finding 3 more days of perfection.

—–

Currently listening to Songs for the Deaf by Queens of the Stone Age

Written by pocheco

April 24, 2006 at 9:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love a curve in a road.

    Nice pic!

    😉

    Lori Witzel

    April 29, 2006 at 10:56 pm


Leave a Reply

