Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Eskimo Joe’s + 2 Years in the Bean

with one comment


eskimo_joes
Originally uploaded by Pocheco.

On my way to work in downtown Boston this morning, I saw a guy wearing an Eskimo Joe’s shirt. He was probably about 20 and was traveling with other people. I kind of wanted to go up to him ask him if he was from Stillwater but I was already late to work, plus I ended up being kinda shy due to all the other people he was traveling with.

I’ve only been to Eskimo Joe’s once, and it’s not all that spectacular, but seeing the shirt made me really miss Stillwater. I had a lot of good times in that town. Stillwater was my second home in 2002-2003. Those were fantastic years. Lots of partying, crazy nights and generally being happy.

I’m hoping to stop by Stilly for a night out on my was across America this summer, and relive some of the revelry.

I guess seeing an Oklahoma-related bit of culture is apt, seeing as today, May 25, marks the two year anniversary of me living in Boston after moving here from Tulsa, OK. (not counting the 6 months I lived here in 2001). Although I admit, it has gone by fast, if you would have told me I’ve spent 20 years here, it would have still seemed the same to me. So much has happened since I’ve came here, and I feel like my life’s changed in so many ways. I guess that was my goal in moving out here, to shake things up a bit. So, mission accomplished! What’s next?

—–

Currently listening to Hail to the Thief by Radiohead

Written by pocheco

May 25, 2006 at 4:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, just wanted to say “hi” to a fellow Stillwater resident. I miss the place terribly myself, it being my home from about ’87 till ’97. I liked Joe’s a fair deal myself, but can easily imagine others not being too impressed.

    Anyway, I’m always on the lookout for a Joe’s shirt myself, tempted to ask the wearer how they got it, etc.

    Take care. Go Pokes.

    A.M.

    October 24, 2006 at 9:04 pm


Leave a Reply

