Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Morning Jacket meets the Boston Pops

leave a comment »

mmj
My Morning Jacket
+

bostonpops
Boston Pops

Tonight will surely be a special treat! I’m going to go see country-rock band My Morning Jacket play with the Boston Pops. This is totally fantastic, because I’ve wanted to see both MMJ & the Pops, so this is ‘killing two birds with one stone’.

MMJ was touring with Pearl Jam and came through Boston earlier this summer. I really wanted to see MMJ, but didn’t want to pay the high ticket price associated with a huge Pearl Jam concert, a band of whom I am not an especially big fan.

I also wanted to see either the Symphony or the Pops play before I left Boston, because they’re both so world-reknowned. When I heard that Keith Lockart, the young, cool Pops conductor had invited them to play as part of the summer’s “Pops on the Edge” series, was intrigued and really psyched.

Not only do I get to see both of them in one night, but what kind of magic will come from a full orchestra + a southern rock band? I’m not sure how it’s going to sound, but I’m sure it will be amazing. I sprung a little extra money to get a great seat, too. I’m on the first balcony, center. I’ll have a perfect view, no doubt. More tomorrow.

—–

Currently listening to: At Dawn by My Morning Jacket

Written by pocheco

June 21, 2006 at 2:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

