Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bukowski Tavern

with one comment

bukowski
Bukowski Tavern, home of the Dead Author’s Club. Located on Boylston Street in Boston.

As I enter my last two weeks in Boston, I’m visiting all the places that have endeared me to this city one last time, before I leave for the west. First among these places is a tiny little bar in Back Bay called Bukowski Tavern.

I first went to Bukowski’s in the winter of 2000 when I came to Boston for a job interview. I have visited it several times since, but I can’t go often enough. This place has always been a favorite of mine, for many reasons, some of which include: I like Charles Bukowski, they have good food, a fun little something called the Wheel O Beer, the cozy smallness of the place, and the atmosphere that makes it feel like a genuine locals bar.

They’ve also got a cool neon sign in the window:
deadauthorsclub
Says “Dead Author’s Club”, although the “A” is obscured here.

Bukowski’s doesn’t have a full liquor license; Boston has so many bars that the state has really restricted who can have full licenses. I heard the city stopped issuing them altogether, and in order to get a permit to sell anything other than beer or wine, you have to pretty much inherit one from another bar that’s going out of business. Bukowski’s is a pretty established locale in Boston, so although they’ve probably had an opportunity to get a liquor license, they’ve stuck to beer and wine and that’s just alright with me.

To make up for the fact that you can’t get a cosmo there (although, anyone coming to Bukowski’s probably wouldn’t be ordering one of those anyway) there is a really good selection of beer and wine. And for those moments when you just can’t decide on what kind of beer you want, there is the Wheel O Beer, sometimes called Beer of Fortune. Funny, everytime I ask them to spin it, it always lands on Schlitz.

wheelobeer
Wheel O Beer

For being kind of a dive bar, they certainly do have a pretty good menu. Good burritos and soups, but my personal favorite is the peanut butter burger. It’s a regular burger, with tomato, lettuce, onion and pickle, but instead of cheese or mayonnaise, they pile a big o’ scoop of chuncky peanut butter on top. I’ll admit, it took me a couple of years chickening out on this before I actually worked up the courage to order it, I now have to say I’m sad I waited so long. Peanut butter on your burger is surprisingly delicious.

wall_buks
Inside, on the wall, they’ve painted a mural of images of the man himself along with some quotes from his novels and poetry.

I always get nostalgic when I go to Bukowski’s, it’s been a place for a lot of fun and a lot of weird burgers. I’ll miss it when I’m gone, and it’s definitely at the top of the list of places I have to revisit if I ever make it back to Boston.

buk_sign

Tips for going to Bukowski’s:

If you’re planning on visiting Boston, and want to spend some time at Bukowski’s, know that there are two locations, one in Back Bay, on Boylston Street, and the other in Inman Square in Cambridge. Just skip the Cambridge one, it’s not worth going to. It’s a fine bar, but it just doesn’t have the same grubby, loveable atmosphere.

If you’re going for lunch, these things are not on the menu, but I think they serve $2 burgers and $1 hotdogs if you ask.

If you’re going for dinner, get there before 6:30 on the weekends if you want a table, or expect to wait…a long long time. People come in and they tend to sit around for a while, it’s that kind of bar…

PS: I have no idea what the Dead Author’s Club is, or if it even exists (anymore).

—–

Currently listening to The Green Album by Weezer

Written by pocheco

August 14, 2006 at 5:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. okay, let me in on the secret here:

    how do you get those multiple pictures to show up wherever you want within your post?

    i just can’t seem to figure it out.

    maybe you just upload the pic, then copy the code and paste it where you want.

    i dunno. makes me mad though!

    motovres

    August 17, 2006 at 6:47 pm


Leave a Reply

