Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Live Here Now

leave a comment »

The Strip at a Distance
View of Las Vegas strip from Flamingo & Decatur

2 1/2 weeks in Las Vegas. And still not much of an effort on the blog front–and after all that egotistical envisioning of myself as the amazing blogger! On my trip out here, I had such visions of grandeur. Whether it be getting gas in Tucumcari, seeing walnut bowls on Interstate 35 south near the Ozarks, or choking on the dust of the Hopi in Kayenta, I had this whole trip planned to be my great novel. I didn’t really get much down. Not even notes.

I think the truth was I was too busy taking it all in that I didn’t have time to write about it. Here’s hoping that I can remember enough to get it down. It’s important to me; important that I can one day look back and remember where this trip brought me, what experiences I squeezed out of that big drive. Perhaps I just need some time away from it, a little perspective, before I can really understand what I was driving through.

I’m a little bit worried that my sentiments might be trite. Hell, maybe they’re profound. At least their mine.

I have two job interviews Thursday.
I turn 27 Sunday.

—–
Currently listening to Morphine

Written by pocheco

October 4, 2006 at 7:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

