Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Million Little Pieces

leave a comment »

mlp
I’ve been reading A Million Little Pieces by James Frey.

Typically, I’m a plodding and methodical reader. It took me eight months to finish Salman Rushdie’s The Santanic Verses and I consider that book to be one of the better books I’ve read. But I’ve covered about 250 pages of A Million Little Pieces in 2.5 days. That’s an average of 100 pages per day, which is like, unheard of for slow-ass me. Which means that I think that it’s good. Really good.

I know there’s a lot of controversy surrounding the book about the parts that he supposedly faked or embellished. And that some people have rejected it solely that it was an “Oprah Book Club” book, but don’t let any of that bullshit fool you. (He now has a preface in the book that clears up some of the accusations, and apologizes to his readers.) What this man has gone through is real and his story is so convincing and scary and honest that it doesn’t matter what events really happened, you know he’s telling you the truth about the addiction. You thought you were scared when you read Go Ask Alice. You don’t even know the half of it.

It’s frantic and miserable and it’s making me examine my own life and seek out differences and similarities and how he’s handled his life as compared to how I’ve handled mine. But there’s hope and beauty too, and the story is rich and sad and lovely.

If you don’t believe me, pick up the book in a store and just get through the first ten pages before making any committments to buy it. You won’t read those pages. You’ll devour them.

—–
Currently listening to Motion The Cinematic Orchestra

Written by pocheco

November 13, 2006 at 6:48 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

