Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

2006 In Review

leave a comment »

Boston Public Garden
Swan Boats in the Boston Public Garden. May 2006

Now that I’ve had a little time to catch up after the start of the new year, I wanted to take a look back over the past year and assess the happenings of 2006. Over the last few months, I’ve been complaining about how out of control my life is. It’s made me depressed in some ways, and in others, it’s really made me evaluate how I feel about my decision to move to Las Vegas. Not being able to get a steady job right away put a negative spin on how I have viewed the quality of my life. But today, after being inspired by a friend’s wrap-up of his year, followed by a perusal of photos I had taken over the past year with my new digital camera, I came to the conclusion that 2006 was an amazing year. “Amazing” doesn’t even really describe it. Is there a word that is a combination of incredible, fantastic, eye-opening and life-altering? I suppose if there is, that would be the word I would use to describe this year.

2006 had some of the most significant life-changning moments that I could ever hope to experience. And, I have to say, most of them were purely positive. With that in mind, I would like to make a little list of things that I’ve been really, really grateful to experience over the past 12 months, in no particular order:

Mom in the North End
Mom in the North End of Boston, in front of a famous pastry place
My Mom came to visit me in Boston. I had been waiting for her to visit for 2 years. I was so excited that she was coming. We had a great time together, despite that it rained most of the time she was there.

Charlie's Kitchen, Harvard Square
Charlie’s Kitchen, Harvard Square, in Cambridge
Got to spend one last beautiful summer in one of the neatest cities I’ve ever lived in, Boston.

Me and the Rav4
My New Toyta RAV4
Bought a car–A Toyota RAV4. I had been living in Boston without a car for nearly two years. It was nice to have a ride back.

Red Sox Game 2006
Now I Can Finally Consider Myself a Bostonian
Went to my first Red Sox Game–Plus, Bonus, I got free tickes from a coworker.

Justin and I at Kennard Design.
Justin & Me on My Last Day at Kennard Design
One day, after two years of working for Kennard Design, my boss told me this poster I had just designed was excellent. As tough a critic as he was, that was an amazing ego boost! I said goodbye to Justin a few months later when I left for Las Vegas.

Bugsy & Bonny
I enjoy taking artsy photos–This is of my friend Bonny at the Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum, with Buddy Segal
I got a new digital camera, something I had been wanting for a long time! My life significantly improved, as I was able to take photos of and share way more of my life with others than before.

beach_rockport
Good Harbour Beach, after the Rain
Spent one last, amazingly glorious summer on the beach on Cape Ann in Massachusetts, loving the sand, the saltwater and the company with Maggie, Merlyn and friends.

(Still waiting to get these photos developed–this part was before I had my digital, and I used film. I have been lazy about developing the pictures!)
Went to and hosted many happy parties, including one my friend and roommate Ariana an almost-impossible surprise party in the dead of winter. I had to carry a huge cake and a piñata, among other things, on the subway through a blizzard to Chinatown. Interesting! But worth it. We had dim sum and busted the piñata. The candy fell into the snow and we lost most of it, but we had a great time nonetheless.

Jason signs an autograph
Jason signs autographs after the show. You can see my drawing on his guitar case in the background.
Drove with a buddy to New York City to witness a small, humble, but amazingly wonderful and emotional (for me) concert of Jason Lytle peforming acoustic songs of of the last Grandaddy album to ever be recorded. I gave him a drawing I did of his band, and he gave me a hug in return. Plus, somewhere, it’s all on film.

(still waiting to develop photos..if I even have any!)Said goodbye to my dear, dear friend Angeline as she left Massachusetts to attend school in Australia.

(no pictures of this…top secret!)Got a temporary job designing albums for the Japanese mafia, that was holed up in a little converted baptist church in Allston.

Curtis, Me, Danny & Daniel
Curtis, Me, Danny and Daniel at Arnie’s in Tulsa
Reconciled with Danny after months of some strange tension and a little bitterness, and we finally were able to become friends again. Shortly before he left Boston to move back to Oklahoma, we spent a day together where we went to the Zoo in Providence, Rhode Island. Even though the zoo was kind of sad and small, something about being outside or at zoos always did bring out the best in Danny and I’s friendship.

DSCF0904.JPG
Party on the roof in Kenmore Square
Spent an amazing Fourth of July at a party on a rooftop deck with lots of lovely people and a glorious view of the fireworks and concert over the Charles River.

Arizona
Road trip!
Said goodbye to my exciting life, my good job, my dear friends and my lovely apartment to embark upon a journey across the entire country. Was able to spend quality time with some old friends and family along the way, including spending part of my trip with Maggie, seeing Leah, seeing my brother and his wife, their kids, my aunt, uncle, and counsins, my dear parents, Logan, Aisha, Ryan, Danny, Daniel, Curtis, Jason, Vinessa, Debbie, Beth, her husband and their kids, Ivy and her family, and finally, one of my favorite people in the whole world, my sister, and her husband and kids.

buddies-subway
Me, Hugo, Ariana and Andrea in the Boston Subway, Prudential Stop
Andrea came to visit me in Boston: That was such a fun time! I am always so excited to be able to show people around the city, it’s so amazing and full of history that I could spend days showing folks around. We had a fun time.

Briana  & Lucca
Briana & Baby Luca
I celebrated new life and loves as my friends Briana and Craig had their first child, and my friends Christine and Sorin got married.

Made wonderful trips to three states in New England:

One of the Five Islands
Five Islands near Old Georgetown Island, Maine
Maine is one of those places, that as soon as I enter it, I never want to leave. It is enchanting in a way not many other places only aspire to be. I spent a blissful weekend there with Ariana, Hugo and Christine.

Me, Mud.
“Live Free or Die”, the New Hampshire sate motto
Went to New Hampshire with friends to go on a canoeing trip down the rive. My first canoeing trip in 15 years. Fantastic to be away from the city and in the water.

Waterfire in Providence, Rhode Island, July 29, 2006
Fires along the canal in Providence
Drove to Providence, Rhode Island to see the RISD production of WaterFire, the amazing outdoor summer production of a series of planned bonfires on the river. Beautiful.

Seven Wonders
View from the North Rim
I got to see the Grand Canyon for the first time in my life, and to camp there with Andrea.

Anasazi Dwelling Called Cliff Palace
Cliff Palace, Ancestral Puebloan Dwelling
I got to see the Anasazi ruins at Mesa Verde in Durango; something I had wanted to see for a very long time.

Red Peppers
Red Peppers in Santa Fe
I also got to visit Albuquerque and Santa Fe, to cities I had been dreaming about for years.

View of the Undersides
No signs to promote it, it’s just there. And you are welcome to add paint to the cars! There are even spray bottles there.
I saw the Cadillac Ranch in Amarillo

Clark Family at Zion
The family I live with
I moved in with Suzanne and her family, who have lovingly included me into their home, which I cannot be thankful for enough.

Andrea & Nicole Atop a Rock at Atlatl
Early morning, Andrea, Nicky and I were doing some rock climbing at Atlatl Rock in the Valley of Fire
I got to hike in Red Rock Canyon, and camp in the Valley of Fire, both in Nevada, and truly two of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

Moonrise over the Peaks
Moonrise over the mountain peaks in Zion National Park
I got to visit Zion National Park in Utah for the first time ever (and 2006 was the first time I’d ever been in Utah, ever!)

My Morning Jacket plays with the Boston Pops
My Morning Jacket plays with the Boston Pops in Symphony Hall
I was able to see some amazing shows: Broadway, NY–The Jersey Boys; Las Vegas, NV–The Scintas and Burn the Floor; Boston, MA–Boston Pops with My Morning Jacket (spectacular!) and Shakespeare in the Park, Taming of the Shrew

Stardust Hotel, Las Vegas
The Las Vegas Stardust, 1958-2006
I got to move to a new, amazing city–Las Vegas, the Entertainment Capital of the World, which has an endless amount of fun things to do and see.

Andrea with Jack and their Tree
Andrea, with her dog Jack, Christmastime
I was reunited with Andrea, a dear friend from college, whom I now live near and hang out with all the time, who has been a super, super friend in times of happiness, sadness and doubt.

Max, Mariah & Morgan
Max, Mariah & Morgan in front of the tree
Spent Thanksgiving & Christmas with my family, which I was unable to do last year.
Met new people, and made some new friends.

My New Desk!!!
My new iMac, (and new desk and chair, too!)
Bought a new iMac and a new iPod (I love my electronics!)

Me at Boston Harbor
Me, standing at the Boston Harbor in May of 2006, during my Mom’s visit.

Wow, when I really think about it, it’s been a super-active and fun filled year! I am truly grateful for everything I was able to experience. It’s been wonderful. Even with it’s problems, 2006 was so monumental and good in so many ways. It’s been good for me to review this, it helps me feel better about my joblessness now.

AND……For a slide show of more highlights from 2006, click here.

—-
Currently listening to, the fax machine.

Written by pocheco

January 11, 2007 at 11:57 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

