Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Vegemite Brownie

leave a comment »

With Love from Angel

I got not one, but TWO packages in the mail today! What an excellent day! One I was expecting, but the other one, contents shown above, came as a total surprise. My good friend Angel, whom I met in Boston, and now lives in Melbourne, Australia, sent this. It contained 2 post cards, with little letters, a novel of hers I’d been admiring a while ago, 2 boxes of Tim Tam cookies, one latte, one original, and a can of Vegemite.

Vegemite!

Vegemite! I hear it’s kind of like peanut butter. Not in taste, but in purpose. And it’s only made in Australia. It’s concentrated yeast extract, which sounds absolutely disgusting. I haven’t tried it yet. I think I’ve decided to do a video blog for my first tasting, so I can get my reaction on video and send it back to Angel for her amusement.

Also, she sent me a book of hers that I had been admiring a year or so ago, when were still living in the same time zone. I miss Angel! I’m hoping to save up enough money to go visit her before she moves somewhere else. She’s in India as we speak, living the wild life. I just have to live vicariously through her, India is one place I’ve always wanted to visit!

Thank you Angel for the package!

Brownie Junior

Also, the mail brought me this today. It’s from my father. It’s a Kodak Brownie Junior camera. It was made somewhere between 1934-42. It looks like it may still be in working condition. My dad got it from eBay. I really like its Art Deco face plate. I had some trouble getting it open and accidentally ripped the leather strap off the top. I was kind of angry at myself that I did that, but it was ancient leather, and brittle as well. It doesn’t affect the functionality of the camera or anything, I am just pissed I worsened the condition. However, other than that, it’s in remarkable condition. It’s a neat little camera.

Brownie Junior Detail

Here’s a detail from the face plate. I like it. Thanks, Dad! I am hoping to maybe try to take some pictures with it eventually.

—–
Currently listening to Good News for People Who Love Bad News, by Modest Mouse

Written by pocheco

January 14, 2007 at 12:28 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

