Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hazards

leave a comment »

Walk towards the Light
Walk towards the light…

BUWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAP! BUWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAP!

MAY I HAVE YOUR ATTENTION PLEASE! THE ALARM YOU HAVE JUST HEARD IS PART OF THE HOTEL’S EARLY ALERT SYSTEM. THE REASON FOR THE ALARM IS NOW BEING INVESTIGATED. WE WILL KEEP YOU ADVISED.

For the past 1/2 hour, a super loud, super shrill alarm noise, repeated twice, is followed by this message over the loudspeakers here at work, in a woman’s voice. It repeats, ad nauseum, with no interval of silence in between. Also, there is a super bright flashing light in my office that will burn little colored spots in my eyes if I look at it.

It could last for the next 10 seconds, or 10 hours, depending. It is maddening.

Part of the hazard of working for a construction company (even though I’m only doing administration in an office) is having to deal with the occasional (or, more than occasional) noise/visual pollution, due to testing of fire systems and such.

So far today, we have had 15 minutes of a single, long, peircing note that had me howling like a dog, so loud I couldn’t type at all because my fingers were in my ears, 30 minutes without electricity (and no windows) and now this, which is gaining on 45 minutes now.

This probably happens twice weekly. I don’t know how long I can take this.

I don’t know if I’m slowly going crazy or learning how to escape to a room full of puppy dogs and pillows in my mind.

Please, make it stop.

—–
Currently listening to: Something humans should never be subjected to.

Written by pocheco

March 8, 2007 at 10:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

