Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Walking with Suzanne

leave a comment »

“Sarah, do you still want to go?”

“What?” I mumble as I turn over in the futon.

“On our walk.”

“Oh, yes I do.”

Getting up at 6 am is a challenge. I tend to stay up late and wake up as late as I possibly can that will still allow me to get to work on time. Definitely my worst habit.

However, I dream of being a natural Morning Person, waking up just after sunrise and jumping out of bed with one of those little jump-and-click-your-heels-together-on-the-side bits that the Leprechauns do. Loving the new day with a twinkle in my eye and a bounce in my step.

In reality, I usually snooze for about an hour to a radio statio station that irritates me, at full volume, which probably means it irritates the five other people living in the house too. I choose the radio over the traditional beeping noise because I realize that my brain is smarter than me and will eventually train my body to sleep through the beeping (it’s done it before). I choose irritating morning radio shows (really a redundant phrase) because if there’s good music on the radio, especially soothing music, I’ll just lay in bed and listen to it, or worse, fall back asleep. So I make it brash and obnoxious so that I’m forced to get out of bed and turn it off.

I also have a cute little prince frog clock that has an alarm on it that couldn’t wake up a mouse and a cell phone alarm that I mostly sleep through as well. Those both go off before “Waking Up With Whoopi” comes blaring over the staticky radio.

I suppose I should really just make more time for sleep, but I hate sleeping. As the Arcade Fire says, “Sleeping is giving in”. I mean, sure, the benefits of sleep are rewarding, but the time committment is cramping my style. What’s worse, I really think that I need at least nine solid hours to truly feel rested, which is one to two hours more than average. It’s also about three to four more hours than I get on a daily basis.

Since I don’t think I’m going to be fitting nine hours of sleep, at least during the work week, into my daily routine anytime soon, I am having to suffer the pains of lethargy and fighting my sloth-like ability to cling to sleep.

Getting out of bed is always the worst part of my day. It’s horrible for about two minutes, and then I’m fine. But I always, ALWAYS put off those two minutes for as long as I possbily can.

It used to be that I would only snooze on days when I had to get up early to go to school or work. If something fun or exciting was happening, I was always able to jump out of bed. These days, however, either I’m becoming jaded or gravity is getting stronger, because I cannot remember the last time I hopped straight out of bed, for anything.

Well, except for today, I suppose. Suzanne and I have been talking about walking in the evenings for some exercise. Of course, finding 30 minutes to mutually exit the house in the evening is difficult.

So she proposed last night that we start walking at 6am. Immediately my muscles and organs groan, of COURSE they don’t want to get up at 6am, that’ a whole 45 minutes that you could be sleeping! But I ignore the organs, because they’re stupid, except for the brain, who thinks: “That’s a great idea!”

Even though my entire body disagreed with my brain’s decision this morning, I rolled out of the futon and put on some pants and we walked out the door. Within a minute I was feeling great and bouncy, and enjoying the morning light.

Walking with Suzanne is great for a lot of reasons:

1) Since Suzanne is 15 years older than me, she moved out of our parent’s house when I was pretty young. So, even though she is definitely my closest sibling in terms of contact, I still don’t feel like I know her as well as I want to. I love getting the chance just to talk to her, uninterrupted by the million things calling for her attention around the house. It’s just she and I and we have a few minutes to catch up in the morning, which is great.

2) Exercise! With being so busy doing my freelance work, and owning a car (no need to walk now!), I get much less exercise than I used to. Not to mention the abundance of tasty salty and sugary foods that pack the pantry of the Clark house. I have gained a few pounds, like 10 or 15, since moving here, and I would like to be able to get them off before they deny me access to my current wardrobe.

3) Get my ass out of bed! I have heard that the best way to kick the most truly addictive habit on the planet, the Snooze Button, is to wake up at the same time every morning. I usually wake up sometime between 6:15 and 7:00 am on the week days, depending on how much I have to accomplish before work, and 9:00-10:00 am on the weekends. Doing this will help me keep my getting-up time consistent, training my body to become awake at 6 am.We have even talked about getting up early on weekends, which will be an adjustment, but I’m looking forward to it.

This morning’s walk was great. Crisp, clear early morning Mojave weather, and some good conversation and a few laughs, a great way to start the day. I’m warming to the idea of doing this all the time.

—–
Currently listening to, Neon Bible by the Arcade Fire.

Written by pocheco

March 9, 2007 at 7:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

