Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cafe con Leche, Por Favor

with 2 comments

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


, originally uploaded by Joseph Robertson.

So this morning, I decided to get some Starbucks coffee on the way to work instead of making some at home to take with me. I didn’t feel like braving the drive-thru, however, cause there was a long line. So, on my way around to the front of the store to park, I made the mistake of passing over the entrance to the drive-thru, and some old man in a giant white truck *thought* I was trying to beat him in line, and angrily cut me off so that he could get there first. Sheesh, what has become of this nation’s coffee addiction/time concerns? It’s beyond me.

Anyway, the reason I decided to stop and get some instead of making it at home is that the grounds we have at home have this weird, almost-sort-of-minty stale taste that just drives me crazy, and half the time the pot of coffee turns out poorly. Yet I continue to make it daily, and daily, I am disappointed with the results. I know it’s not the coffee maker, because the one we have is new and quite nice.

But the bigger issue that I’m left to ponder is, When did I become a coffee snob? I don’t know. I used to be able to drink whatever kind of coffee was available, whether it be the watered-down Denny’s variety, or some shitty trucker coffee I picked up on the highway, or anything I made at home was usually fine. Somewhere along the way, unbeknownst to me, my mind made a distinct division between the good, the bad, and well, the disgusting. (I am seeing, as I get older, that my mind is controlling more and more of what I want, and not letting me get a word in edgewise. Stupid brain.)

I recently bought a french press, which has improved the taste of the coffee I make at home. However, there’s always the occasional time the grounds will spill out of the filter and poison the coffee, or I’ll burn it, but I am afraid the taste really all comes down to the quality of the grounds. I know it’s only a matter of time before I’m one of those totally anal perfectionists who buys imported beans and a grinder to make fresh, exotic grounds every morning. Who knows, in ten years, it could be so bad, I might even have to move to Columbia, grow my own beans and buy a roaster.

Now while being able to enjoy the perfect cup of coffee every morning has its benefits, I also realize that I become adjusted to it. Depending on a certain flavor can be limiting. Not to mention I really only truly enjoy coffee that has Half & Half and Raw Sugar in it.

What happens when I go to someone’s house for a week and all they serve is 3 year old Folgers? Will my body reject any and all coffee if it’s not absolutely perfect? You see how this is already getting out of hand. It turns out that being picky is a terrible social habit.

But for now, I have my Starbucks, which, by the way, is alright, but not the best cup I’ve ever had…If you want my advice on a good cup of coffee, and I mean a freaking fabulous cup of coffee, and you live in Oklahoma, make a voyage over to DoubleShot Coffee Company on 21st street and Boston in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The coffee there is never anything less than perfect.

So I guess the final question is: Is my relationship with coffee one of pleasure or one of necessity? I want to be able to drink a delicious cup of coffee to start my day, but some days I really just want the caffiene. Am I willing to sacrifice taste for alertness? Or should I just start eating apples instead?

Written by pocheco

March 29, 2007 at 3:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aaah, coffee… No morning without my very own extra large cup made by the very own recipe mum taught me when i was a little brat of 5… even if I’m totally late for uni, it’s worth it. It’s coffee. And we don’t have starbucks here 😦

    to many coffee-related stories, greetings from fellow coffee addict, Ella.

    Jinx

    March 29, 2007 at 4:20 pm

  2. I have become that way with tea. I order the stuff from a shop I found in San Francisco and always brew it with filtered water. Any thing else, just doesn’t do it for my any more.

    I don’t really have a problem with it because I can always take the tea with me when I travel.

    For some things, it is worth it.

    Ryan

    March 29, 2007 at 5:05 pm


Leave a Reply

