Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Search for the Great Nevada Diner

leave a comment »

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Coffee Cup Cafe, originally uploaded by Roadsidepictures.


“We plan, we toil, we suffer in the hope of what? A camel-load of idol’s eyes? The title deeds of Radio City? The empire of Asia? A trip to the moon? No, no, no, no. Simply to wake just in time to smell coffee and bacon and eggs.”

–J. B. Priestley

One of my favorite phenomena of American culture is the diner/cafe. There’s something simply lovely about shiny checkered tile floors, chrome-lined leatherette booths and spinning barstools combined with the smell of coffee and bacon and eggs. It’s one of my most favorite things in the world. It’s simple and unpretentious and welcomes all. I just love it.

I’m not a huge fan of the show Heroes, and I’ve also given up TV for Lent, but a few months ago I saw an episode, one of the first, where Hiro is sitting at a diner somewhere in Nevada right after he won the money at the roulette tables in Las Vegas…I don’t know where that diner is, but it looked awesome. I’m kind of on a mission to find it.

Anyway, since Vegas was spawned during the Golden Era of the US, it goes without saying that there are some great retro diners and cafes around. I haven’t tried many yet, but I’m making it my personal quest, if not to find the one from Heroes, to at least find one that I can start frequenting.

I’ve always wanted to be a ‘regular’ at a diner. The thought of waking up every Saturday morning and heading down to a sunny, cheery diner full of the happy clatter of dishes and the bright chatter of hungry people just seems so comforting and homey.

Tomorrow, after I make a trip over to the DMV for new plates and a license (very scary experience here in Las Vergas, what with like a million new people moving here every month), Andrea and I are heading back to Boulder City to hit up the Coffee Cup Cafe (pictured above) for lunch. This time, I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures.

Written by pocheco

March 30, 2007 at 4:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

