Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m Official Nevadian Now

leave a comment »

It's Official

I got my plates, license and registration this weekend. Ooh! And I registered to vote, too. All in one day, I’m so proud. I am SO relieved it’s taken care of now. It was considered one of my milestones to accomplish before I moved out of the Clark residence. I just have to do a couple of more things and then it’s off to my own apartment.

That’s a weird concept. I get so used to living with the family that I have forgotten what it’s like to have privacy. Guess that’s a thing to chalk up under “Learning Experiences”.

Annnyway. I got a speshul plate because I think the standard one is kinda ho-hum. I got this particular design because I enjoy high saturation on color and I love orange. Now you know.

I got some new music…new Modest Mouse (good, but wow, they are evolving into a whole ‘nother band) and a CD of Nature Sounds, called Insect Summer of Love 2004. Yes, I am aware that I sound like a filthy hippie sometimes. But I like the sound of bugs at night, and dammit, the desert doesn’t have much by the way of comforting bug noises. This CD I got was made by a woman who recorded it in her yard, (and beyond) in Pennsylvania, and has 10 minute long tracks of Brood X, Cicadas, Katydids, Crickets, Autumn Crickets and Frogs. This CD brings the word “blissful” back to its true origin (although I think the rest of the family is kinda freaked out by it). I fell asleep to cicadas and slept like a lil drunken baby. It’s ethereal.

I broke my vow of “No TV for Lent” for a total of 10 minutes to watch a re-run of The Arcade Fire musical performance on SNL. I had to really restrain myself from watching the whole show, cause Rain Wilson was the host and he is awesome. But I couldn’t pass up the chance to see AF. They are super live performers. If you haven’t heard their new album, Neon Bible, you are missing out. It’s great. (Thanks to Justin, btw)

Mother is coming on Tuesday. Suzanne and I are excited. I haven’t seen Mom in 7 months but it’s been a year and a half for Suzy. We’re all piling in the Clark family van and heading out to Bakersfield, CA for Easter to visit some old mutual friends. It should be fun.

I have been working on new ads for the Christian Science Monitor tonight. Also a logo for a business networking company. The Monitor stuff is more or less pretty fun, because they’re good to let me take the lead on the design and creativity, but the business networking stuff is dreadfully painful and tedious and corporate in a way that makes one reconsider the benefits of dreadlocks and living in a commune.

Namely because they don’t really want me to design something for them. They want someone who knows how to use Adobe Illustrator to create something while they stare over my shoulder, guiding me at every hideous, design-by-committee turn. But I have to get it done tonight. Working on it is like pulling teeth. That’s why I’m here in BlogLand, instead. It’s procrastination.

It was a good weekend to accomplish things. I got my taxes done, and for the first time in three years I think the government may owe ME money! I’m hoping it’s like a billion dollars so I can shoot myself into outerspace and never return. I’ll send you a postcard when I’m floating past Jupiter…

—–
Currently listening to Pikul by Silverspun Pickups

Written by pocheco

April 2, 2007 at 6:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

