Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dry

leave a comment »

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Never Enough, originally uploaded by Fernando Vega™.

Today is May 1, which marks the first day of my No Alcohol May, part one in a series of monthly fasts I’m taking from various substances to see how they affect/improve my health, see my blog, Taste Testing.

So, as of today, until June first, I am not drinking any wine, liquor, beer, rubbing alcohol, mouthwash or cologne. Which, really, isn’t a big deal. I’m not a huge drinker, more of a social one. I chose alcohol for my first fast because I know it’s going to be easy for me. I’m using this month to gear myself up for harder fasts down the road, coming in June (no sugar) and July (no carbs).

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Dry, originally uploaded by alan fangor.

Incidentally, I’m reading Dry by Augusten Burroughs, which is a memoir about an alcoholic. This is the third alcoholic book I’ve read in the past year, among Another Bullshit Night in Suck City and Million Little Pieces. It turns out I like books about people and addictions; I think it’s interesting to see how people articulate desperate need, and I like to see what kind of thinking brings them out of that need. Also, since Dry is about a recovering alcoholic, it’s a nice little pep talk and example for me to follow as I wander into absolutely sober territory.

As a side note, Burroughs is an OK writer. He’s got some gimmicky little techniques that are a tad annoying, but he does have the ability to weave a decent story and he’s got some interesting insights into the addiction. I don’t think I’ll be reading any of his other books, however. Something about his writing seems a little flat to me. I know this book is a memoir, but I am beginning to see how books written in the first person can be limiting…

That aside, the cover is fantastic, and it’s what made me want to read the book in the first place. I read somewhere that Burroughs designed it himself, which is cool.

—-
Currently listening to: Volta by Bjork

Written by pocheco

May 1, 2007 at 5:16 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

