Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Comic Book Burros

leave a comment »

Sweet Burrito
Sweet lil burrito I photographed in Red Rock Canyon

So, after a few years of bandying about the idea of creating a comic book, I have finally taken the first real steps to creating one. My friend Justin approached me with the idea of writing a script together, and after a conversation we had while walking through Red Rock, it became apparant that we should do a comic book. About donkeys. Burros, more precisely, as that is the name for wild or feral donkeys.

We met on Saturday and had an awesome creative session where we formed the major plotline of our story, some of the main characters, and talked about some details of setting and key turning points. It was really fun, since we seemed to agree pretty much level by level on creativity and direction. I’m really looking forward to it.

The donkey is going to be a great subject, too. I love them. I’ve been researching the heck out of donkeys and have learned a lot of interesting things about them. For instance, did you know that the king of Spain gave George Washington a donkey that was named “Knight of Malta”? I find that hilarious.

Now that we have a basic story line worked and the beginning of the first chapter established, it’s up to me to begin drawing it. Which is a daunting task. I’ve been checking out the works of comic book geniuii(plural of genius?), the likes of Clowes, Crumb, Speigleman, Ware, Gorey and Dunn, to name a few. I know I can draw, but this is going to be a real challenge for me.

My biggest concern is that I don’t have the skills, or at least, am not up on my practice to portray the story exactly how I want. I have all these great visuals in my head, but turning them to paper is a scary thought. Ack. I love the idea of me drawing/writing a comic book, but the actual work is a bit scary.

I’m pressing ahead though, and researching panel structure and model sheets and all that, in hopes of getting myself through this without panicking or creating a shoddy product. Wish me luck! I do believe that this will take the better part of two years to complete, the way I want. Here goes…

—–
Currently listening to: Unidentified machinery whirring in the distance

Written by pocheco

May 21, 2007 at 3:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

