Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Successes, Too

leave a comment »

Morgan's Birthday Cake (detail)
Detail from Morgan’s Birthday Cake, 2007

Well, I just wrote a big blog two days ago about how much I’ve been failing as far as the job hunt goes. I don’t want to be a Debbie Downer, tho, cause I’ve had some great successes, too. And I feel like I should acknowledge and be thankful for good things that have come my way.

Part of the reason I wrote that blog about all the interviews I had, and all the times I was rejected was to itemize my effort. I wanted to see how hard I’ve tried. And if I truly have given the job market a good effort here, or if I’m just blowing smoke up my own ass.

And you know what I figured out? The advertising agcencies here, are, by and large, are carniverous and aggressive. I mean, damnit, there is some design that is SO cool. And I’ve seen evidence of it. Not all agencies do that design, but some do, and that work, at least for me, is really, truly rewarding. And I would like to do something that’s rewarding. But maybe…just maybe, I shouldn’t be working for an ad agency? What else can I do?

But I feel like I’m getting nothing. No design job. And I’m starting to wonder…Is there a reason for that? Is there some reason why I’m not supposed to be working for an ad agency? I mean, aside from their reputation of being a soul-sucking indutry, full of unrepenting buzzards and cagey mountain lions, what’s not for me?

I mean, truly, I would love to do mostly illustrations and music posters and I would be happy being my own boss. And I’d love to travel a lot. How do I mix those into a career that’s going to pay the bills? I need to figure it out.

So then, what am I supposed to do? How am I going to be successful? Well, for now, if I want to see my successes, I have to look to other areas of my life. And pondering these have given me a lift. So, for balance, here are some things in my life that I have to be happy for:

Freelance Design: When I had no money, freelance jobs really saved my life. I did a ton of them! There were so many I felt like I never had enough time to do them all. I worked on them most nights in January and February, as well as major parts of December, March and April. I’m doing it way less now, but that’s kind of by choice. And I’ve had some really good companies. One of them still owes me $900, so I need to get that. But the rest have been good about paying me and have really made a difference in my financial life.

Family: How great have the Clarks been to me!? Letting me stay in their house, rent free. They’ve embraced and encourage and aided me in so many things. And I appreciate it, I really do. I love being with my sister. She is such a great person, and I really do love her very much. She’s never anything but the sweetest to me and I couldn’t ask for a better sister. Also, Allison! She’s such a cool person, I’d like hanging out with her even if we weren’t related. And that’s rare indeed, haha. Plus, I got to see my mom in April!

Friends: I’ve really been able to spend a lot of great time with Andrea. She’s been such a good friend, and we’ve had a lot of great times so far. I’m looking forward to much more. She’s been there to help me out when I was sad or broke, and for that, she’s great. She’s fun and adventurous, too, up for pretty much anything, and that’s a great quality to have. And I’ve met Justin, and Sherrie and Bobby and Lisa. And there are others, too. I’ve had a great time getting to know then, they’re all super people.

Desert: I have said it before, I’ll say it again: The Mojave Desert is the best thing about my life. It just is. I love it so much. The Sierra Nevadas, Red Rock, Valley of Fire, Lake Mead, Sand, Cactus, Creosote, Burros, Jack Rabbits and Mountain Goats. All of these things are so wonderful, and each time I go back to visit them again, I love them all a little bit more. The desert is one of the major reasons why I’ve stayed in Nevada this long, and it is the reason I continue to stay here.

Photography/Art: Since I’ve come here, I’ve really done some fun photoshoots, and they’ve really been satisfying. Friends, family, Vegas, the desert. There are so many things to photograph and I feel like I’m getting better. It’s satisfying. Also, I am so excited about this comic that Justin and I have conceived…now we just have to execute it. Whenever I’m in a bad mood, I just have to work on it a little and I get happy again. This comic is really giving me a purpose, something to look forward to when I come home.

House: A new house to stay, and a nice roommate. Through Allison, I’ve met Carly, and Carly has a new house being built that she’s invited me to come live in. The rent is reasonable, the area of town is new and nice, and the house is brand new. I’ve never lived in a brand new house.

New Experiences: I moved to the west side of this country so I could experience something totally different. And boy, let me tell you, I have gotten my wish. But, you know what? Good and bad, it all ends up enriching me in some way, and I am thankful for that.

So, I am happy today. It’s Friday, and we have a three day weekend, and my work day is almost over…

I am excited about my camping trip with Allison. I’ll post pictures this weekend.

—–
Currently listening to Wincing the Night Away by The Shins

Written by pocheco

May 25, 2007 at 8:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

