Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Welcome to the Test: Day 1

leave a comment »

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

Ugh. UUUUUGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH. I went to In ‘n’ Out Burger last night with Lisa. We had great time catching up, but I’m sick to my stomach.

Service was good, food’s pretty cheap ($5.23 total), and we didn’t have to wait too long for it, considering it was really busy.

I got a cheeseburger, vanilla shake and fries. Can you get more American than that? No sir-ree. Burger was pretty good, shake was alright, fries were alright. I ate everything, and then immediately regretted it. My stomach got very, very upset with me and I then got a nasty case of heartburn. It was totally my fault, however, because going to In ‘n’ Out was my decision.

And I’m not here to blame In ‘n’ Out, either. Their food is pretty fresh and supposedly they don’t use anything that was frozen. I actually saw someone cutting a potato to make French fries, so that was my proof. However, I’ve come to the conclusion that fast food, fresh or not, is horrible for you. I mean, I suppose everyone kinda knows that already, especially if you’ve seen the movie “Supersize Me”, but this time the food really fought my innards.

I guess if I were have to name a weakness, I would say that I do like Taco Bell. The rest I can either take or leave, but sometimes I crave a Crunch Wrap Supreme. In the past, when I would get something from there, or the rare Sausage Egg McMuffin from McDonald’s, eating it would always be a little treat that I would indulge in to make my mouth & stomach happy.

These days, however, I’m finding I get less and less pleasure each time I go out for fast food. I mean, sometimes the mouth is happy, but the stomach is always really unhappy. It’s getting to the point where I don’t even want to eat it anymore, which is something that, as a red-blooded American, I thought I would never have to say. Not that I lament at the thought of letting it go (rather I’m amazed at my body’s ability to reject that food even after my mind has been giving me the thumb’s up all these 27 years), rather I have to adjust my mental climate to a state where I no longer participate in the national pastime.

Aside from that, I sort of indulged in coffee, and yes, sugar, yesterday before the big day, which is today, where I stop eating sweets and only drink water during June simply to see if it can be done. Or rather, to see if I can do it.

Let’s see, yesterday, I had the equivalent of about 6 cups of coffee (with raw sugar), one luke-warm coke (I don’t recommend it), a vanilla milkshake, about four tablespoons of vanilla frosting, 2 gingersnap cookies, and part of a pastry from Starbucks. Which is more than my usual intake of sugar, but I was kind of stuffing my cheeks with it, like a chipmunk, since I was about to fast. I mean, I had other stuff, too, but the latter are a list of stuff that, as of today, I will be removing from my diet. Reading over those past items, it’s no wonder I feel like shit today. I have a sugar/fast food hangover of the extreme degree.

Which, honestly, isn’t a bad way to start off No Sweets June/H20 June, since the thought of eating sugar, or even drinking coffee, to me, right now is unsettling.

So, as I got into the office this morning, I didn’t even feel like having my standard breakfast of oatmeal. I went straight for a glass of water out of the cooler. I was dismayed to find out it was tepid, which I haven’t experienced out of our cooler before. Water is only really good to me when it’s cold. And somehow I am going to get through eight glasses of it today.. Sigh….this might be a long month.

—–
Currently listening to Sam’s Town by The Killers

Written by pocheco

June 1, 2007 at 2:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

