Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Great (but not so) Novel Advice

leave a comment »

DSCF5003

My boss spent the better part of today yelling at me. I’m sure I deserved some of it, but it was hard nonetheless. I think everything’s ok now. I can just never make another mistake. Yeek.

After work, I went over to Border’s because I wanted to get some books to help me with my job. I found two awesome design books, and got two other books as well. A little libro-therapy never hurt. I only buy books in spree twice a year, so I got to make it count.

treatments
I got this one for the awesome awesome examples of type. It’s SOOO inspiring.

1592531911
I got this one, because, although I know the press pretty OK, I want to become the master of it, since that’s a major part of my job.

I also got this book. It’s our next book club book. Please get it. It’s wonderful.

dangerous_book

I also got the book at the top of this post, which I couldn’t resist, because of the awesome cover, and the amazing illustrations on the inside which are gonna help me with my comic. Plus Ernie Pyle is like a hero.

Anyway, I was reading The Dangerous Book for Boys, and the introduction says:

Don’t worry about genius and don’t worry about not being clever. Trust rather to hard work, perseverance and determination. The best motto for a long march is, “Don’t grumble. Plug on.
— Sir Frederick Treves

I liked that quote because I am feeling the stinging feeling of not being good enough at work. People all my life have told me that I’m a great artist and a good designer. And I’ve allowed myself the luxury of letting that slip up to my head.

Working for Greenbaum changes that a little. Not only am I not the best graphic designer, I am also not the best artist. I am feeble and new to this job, and feel like I’m on unstable ground. Just a month into the job, and I’m feeling out of place and worthless at something I’ve been studying since birth. But, I have to just “plug on”, cause that’s all I can do. I hope I can get better. Cause if not, what will I do?

—-
Currently listening to “Boy with a Coin” by Iron & Wine

Written by pocheco

July 17, 2007 at 3:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

