Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Me, At The Grand Canyon

with one comment

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


My favorite shot of Sarah, originally uploaded by Mikkel Elbech.

You know that turning point scene in movies, where the alcoholic/addict is having a bad day, then reaches for that bottle of Jack Daniels, that Pall Mall, that 3rd croissant, then, slowly puts it down, staring at the object of their obsession with a visage full of revelation? Some part of them closes a door to that way of life and they are able to resolve their addiction. Lately I’ve had this feeling that I’m in the long, slow process of doing just that. But for me, it’s not JD or cigarettes or pastries that I’m battling. Which substance or addiction that I’m giving up, remains a mystery, even to me.

It’s a strange, new feeling, one that takes an effort to wrap my mind around every day. I don’t know if this is a feeling of growth or of closure, but I’m wondering if it’s the end or the beginning of something. Some part of it feels like the movie Groundhog Day, like I’m living the same day over and over until I get it right.

—–
Currently listening to TV on the Radio

Written by pocheco

August 7, 2007 at 9:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi!
    Listening to … Grandaddy (What Happened To The Fambly Cat), I googled Jason Lytle and came across your blog.
    I do not have a blog yet, but I’ll just tell you that I am a fan of Grandaddy (and that’s pretty much the only thing I am a fan of…) and I like photography. You have made some very good pictures, congrats!
    By the way I saw Grandaddy in Covington, KY (near Cincinnati) in October 2003 … ah … souvenirs!

    Greetings from Stuttgart, Germany.
    11:36pm

    Bernard

    August 8, 2007 at 9:37 pm


Leave a Reply

