Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dios Malos at the Beauty Bar

leave a comment »

dios
Band photo..I didn’t take it, I’m just stealing it for my blog.

I went to see Dios Malos last night at the Beauty Bar with Mistress Gita. Compliments of Aaron, so thank you, thank you.

I spent a couple of hours chatting up Edwin, second in from the left, whom I think is cute. I told him so. He blushed a little. Hey plays the keys, and told me he’d been playing piano since the age of four. Aw. He was unfailing polite and kind. He later came to sit on the couches outside with me an’ Gita right up until he had to go set up the stage for his performance. We had beers and listened to some crazy Vulcan band. There were Star Trek images being projected on the white wash brick wall across the way and some whale noises happening on stage, just behind us.

Then, Dios started playing and were good. The band’s got talent. I saw them once before a year and a half ago in Boston at The Paradise Rock Club. I wrote about it here. I have to be honest and say that I haven’t been up with Dios much lately and wasn’t aware that they had a new album. However, I did like the new stuff they played and, from what I’ve heard on their MySpace page (click here to see), the new songs are great. I’d dare to say even better than the last album.

Too bad I had a problem holding my liquor, so Gita and I left, so sadly, before the end of the set. I didn’t get to say goodbye to Edwin. She and I ended up eating burritos in a 24 hour taco shop a few miles and a taxi cab ride away, an hour later. Time passed, I was a little out of it, but I was chatting to some Mexicans in Spanish. My Spanish is always better when I’m a little drunk. Or a lot drunk.

Anyway, Ed, I am sorry to have never said goodbye. How rude, please accept my apology. You were amazingly sweet and adorable.

Well, it’s 12:45 and I’m not the least bit sleepy. I probably should go to bed, tho. Cause I may have to work a temp job tomorrow. I am not sure, but I’ve got to be prepared. Perhaps that liter of Dr. Pepper an hour ago wasn’t the wisest decision considering the caffeine.

At least something good came of it: I gessoed a new canvas I bought today in preparation for the first painting I’ve attempted in over a year. Also, I took the first tentative, somewhat frightening steps toward a final drawing on my comic, page one. I am crossing my fingers I’m not going to flub it up.

—-
Currently listening to Dios Malos, tracks from the rainbow money monkey album.

Written by pocheco

August 12, 2007 at 7:35 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

