Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Las Vegas’ First Dunkin’ Donuts

leave a comment »

Las Vegas First Dunkin Donuts!

428 days. That’s how many days it’s been since I’ve had a cup of Dunkin’ Donuts Coffee.

6 am, August 28, 2006, as Maggie and I rolled out of Boston towards Pittsburgh (and me eventually towards Las Vegas) we stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts one last time, where I got a large coffee, the celebratory last DuDo* hurrah before embarking on a Dunkin’ Donut-less future out west. And I savored it.

Well, more than a year later, I as I am writing this, and sitting at my computer here in Las Vegas, I have a cup of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee sitting here with me. And it is amazing. JUST as amazing as I remember it. Super cheap, super delicious, and filled with a cocaine-like substance that will have me driving there every day to get some of that delicious morning beverage.

Two Tuesdays ago, the first one here in Vegas opened with much ado, about two miles from my house (hooooow convenient! so close!). There have been lines out the door everyday, and I haven’t been motivated to stand in them, so I waited a couple weeks. (although I did take a couple of pictures of the exterior one morning, as the shot above and below)

Tonight, after dinner, I felt it was time. My coworker Derek, who is also from the east has been talking with me about it ever since we found out it was going to open. I couldn’t wait any longer. I got in my car, drove over there, and only had to wait in line about 4 minutes, before I ordered a medium coffee, with cream and sugar, of course, and a vanilla creme donut.

I got home, and ate the donut in, oh, about 45 seconds. The creme part was good, but the donut was ‘meh’. I’ve never been a fan of Dunkin’ Donuts actual donuts, to be quite honest. They’re always a bit too dry for my taste. It’s the coffee that’s the real prize.

I’m so happy.

*Dunkin’ Donuts short name for the uninitiated.

Las Vegas First Dunkin Donuts!

1st Las Vegas Dunkin Donuts

Here are a couple of more shots of the new D’D. The reason why the last picture is so blurry is because I took it in a hurry, so no one would see me (I was angry that my flash betrayed me and went off) because, how embarrassing is it to be photographing a donut shop? Real embarrassing. Who does that? People like me, I guess.

—–
Currently listening to my happy tummy.

Written by pocheco

October 30, 2007 at 3:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

