Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dear Leap Year: Please Let Nothing Change, I’ve Got the Spins, and I Need a Rest

with one comment

2008 came busting through the door while I had my back turned, I think. But, now that I find myself present, accounted for and alive–I find myself pretty satisfied with where I am this January. 2007 was such a cathartic year, such a catalytic year. Change was common and frequent, like walking out of one room into another. Good things, bad things–luckily they have balanced each other out and I am starting to feel stable once again.

Was talking with a friend today about years of change versus years of routine, and how we both prefer these two types of years to alternate, so as not to get us too bored or too displaced.

I hope this is my year of stability. For sure, I need it. I want everything in my life to freeze for 2008, so that I may have time to adjust. Certain events, however, are leading me to believe that I’m in for more change yet.

I just need some time to assess all that has happened! I need time to reflect and learn from past events, before being thrown on the tilt-a-whirl another time.

If our greatest power, as humans, is our ability to adapt, how can it also be true that our greatest weakness is our resistance to change?

—–
Currently listening to Under the Iron Sea by Keane

Written by pocheco

January 6, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your descriptive ability borders on genus! I love to see your life thru your eyes!
    K

    Karl Nichols

    February 12, 2008 at 6:55 am


Leave a Reply

