Nonphenomenal Lineage

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Book Cover Design

leave a comment »

Me with book

Here is me with my very first book cover design. I am quite proud! I want to design more book covers, I love doing them. The book is called Questioning Library Neutrality, Essays from Progressive Librarian, and is published by Library Juice Press, based out of Duluth.

Here are more views of the cover, for detail:

book jacket_front

book jacket_low res

This design was quite a process for me. And I learned a lot. The final design feels really organic to me. I drew the letters by hand, and the fist drawing is actually a scan of a lino block print of a carving I did. It was a very satisfying process, and I am happy with how it turned out. The only shame is that I think this particular design warrants a matte cover, but this is definitely glossy.

Here are some of the other ideas I had for covers before we arrived at this one:

Designs v.1 [link]
Designs v.2 [link]
Designs v.3 [link]

If you’d like to read more about the book, or buy a copy, you can go here [link]

—–
Currently listening to The Sandworm Cometh, by My Morning Jacket

Written by pocheco

May 20, 2008 at 7:21 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

